In some cities, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hours. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

In many cities, the Government has imposed peak hour rates on drivers to reduce traffic, so travellers can stop using their vehicles and reduce incidents which happen on the roads. I do not think this development is positive because there are other methods which can ease the traffic on the roads. This essay will discuss why imposed taxes are not beneficial to the people. Firstly, the main reason is that the Administration charges taxes from the community, which puts an extra financial burden on the drivers, some folks travel from far distances because they cannot afford expensive rent in the metropolis and do not have employment in their range. Another factor is that if more population live in the cities, it will require more facilities such as hospitals, educational institutions,houses, and other amenities which will put extra pressure on the locals. For example, in Sydney, rent is very high so the community are commuting on a daily basis from villages to feed their families. Moreover, the crime rate has increased and the price of properties has skyrocketed. In addition, in some rural areas still, public services are not available and villagers do not have any other options to reach their companies. Instead of putting taxes on the commuters the Authorities should provide public transport facilities and widen the roads, so people can drive easily and reduce long queues. For example, many councils now developed infrastructure to accommodate outsiders and to make affordable houses for everyone, so these people can settle in the metropolis and stop congestion on the roads. In conclusion, following the analysis, it is clear that if the Governance provides jobs in local areas and builds roads to provide public transport in these areas, the congestion issues will be fixed automatically. Further, it is predicted that people will keep driving to the cities for work until they get employment near their regions.