Watching TV shows and movies about crime is becoming more and more popular. Why is this? What effect does that have on society?

In our contemporary society, most people, no matter adults or children, are magnetized by watching TV shows and movies in the crime genre as a recreation. Needless to say, as this genre has been of broad interest to the general public, it has brought a new set of concerns with it that demands attention. This essay will firstly find the main reasons behind this phenomenon and then will elaborate its impact on our society. To start with, people are intrinsically adventurous so that their energy is expected to be dissipated with carrying out exciting activities. One way to fulfil this goal and trigger an adrenaline rush, is indisputably to watch criminal TV shows and movies, most of which feature action scenes as well as advance effects. In addition, some prohibited, exciting activities which people are not allowed to do them in real regular life, such as shooting, are shown in these kinds of movies that results in engrossing those people who have vigorous personality and get an adrenaline hit On the other hand, criminal TV shows and movies have undoubtedly a profound impact on our community, so that not only do people become familiar with a variety of crimes, but they also learn the ways to deal with them. Looked at in one way, watching this genre can allow people to find a suitable method to resist criminals; looked at in another way, it worryingly leads to increased aggressive behaviour in society, paving the way for widespread chaos. For instance, although television programs about kidnapping have made parents aware of their children, considering this crime as a tool to fulfil the dreams of criminals is incredibly on the rise, while if these films were not broadcast, this crime would not have spread so much. In conclusion, due to the appeal of crime shows and movies to the public, the broadcast of such a genre on television is inevitable and has become a public need. However, it is no exaggeration to say that aggressive behaviour in a community can be attributed to these kinds of television programs.