At present, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the population has been vastly increasing around the world. In a few countries, it is reported that the ratio of young people has overtaken people of older age. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of the effects caused by this population imbalance. In my opinion, I believe that the advantage of having a higher number of young generations outweighs its disadvantages. The disadvantage of having a larger ratio of younger people in a country would be the rapid increase in the population in upcoming years, which would translate to more occupancy over existing land. In China, for example, a tax is imposed over couples on the birth of their second child, to encourage the couples to limit their family to only a single child. This way, it would help the country to control the population. Hence, a larger number of young people will lead to a further increase in the ratio between the age groups. Despite this disadvantage, the increased number of young people can be very beneficial for the country ’s economic sector. To begin with, higher the ratio of young people, higher would be the workforce of that country. In India, for instance, a huge number of adult people in their early years are working in different industries as well as earning through freelancing. Moreover, many foreign companies have developed their factories in the country because of the huge workforce available. As a result of this, they are financially benefiting their country by earning foreign exchanges. In conclusion, in a country where the number of young citizens outweighs their older number, although there can be an increase in the population, but this cause, also contributes to the country ’s financial growth. In my opinion, I entirely believe that the advantages of such a situation easily overcome its disadvantages.