Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few individuals are of the argument about teaching voluntary service to students as a mandatory part of their secondary school syllabus. This essay agrees with that suggestion. Firstly, this essay will discuss how voluntary work for non governmental organisations will develop soft skills and secondly, discuss how extra curricular activities keeps them highly motivated and physically active. Free service to the society in any form proves to be of great learning to young minds. Kid's brain shouldn't be filled with bookish knowledge, as that's not the only thing required to face competition. They should also learn other life skills such as effective communication with all age groups. For instance, visiting an old age home and spending time with elderly people will teach them behavioural skills with senior people. Also, a trip to an agriculture farm for learning where food comes from will make them value the basic needs in life. In addition, other activities like sports can keep them enthusiastic and fit at the same time. Children mostly spend hours on studies in the classroom and tuitions which makes them very reserved in nature. However, schools who mandate a higher number of participation in sports, will motivate students to go to school. For example, a recent study, review shows, 100% attendance of students at schools where involvement is sports is compulsory. In conclusion, voluntary work should be a mandatory for creative brain development, which happens from childhood, also extra-curricular activities makes students proactive.