People are becoming too dependent on the Internet and phone. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the world is heavily lodged into its new invention, that is Internet and Mobiles. While, some argue that, this dependency could affect the human kind adversely, there are many others who believe it to be a blessing to us. However, I believe it to be a positive development. In this age of technology, due to the availability of high internet and smart gadgets, people can get the knowledge regarding the events happening throughout the world. For instance, a person can find out about a musical concert that is going to take place overseas by just a few clicks. This advancement has given a person the power of knowledge of its surrounding and the happening of events world-wide. Moreover, devices such as cellular phones has made it easier than ever to connect with friends and family while away from them. This has also made it more convenient to connect with people you do not know and wish to be friends with. For example, if you have seen a person in your locality and you want to build contacts with him, a byproduct of the internet; social media site can help you connect with them. Thus, making us more social. Furthermore, the smart phones have made it extremely convenient for humans to save time. To illustrate, a person now can browse to shop or purchase products online, whilst sitting at home, or book, a movie ticket using their smart phone applications without having to go physically in a store or box office. Consequently, helping them to invest their time on more important matters. To summarise, the technology has made it very easy and time saving for the person using it. Therefore, the burgeoning use of the internet and mobiles has significantly impacted the life of the users in a progressive direction.