Some people think that governments should spend money on railways. Others believe that there should be more investment into new roads. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

About governments investment in public transport, two opposing views have been suggested, one of which is related to the construction of more railways, while the other is about structures of new roads. From my perspective, governments should pay more attention to railways, since it is more beneficial for communities. According to the perspective of some, the benefits of railways are more than the advantages of road vehicles. The rationale behind their thought might be the safety and convenience that have been provided by trains, particularly high-speed trains. I also support this point of view and believe that people can access a variety of amenities on a train such as toilets, a small cafe and wider seats with more leg space. It also should be considered that high-speed trains are available to carry hundreds of people at once, and they are faster than any road vehicles. For some other people, however, privacy might have importance, and they do not wish to travel with others. Besides, parents who have children at school age usually prefer driving them to school while they commute to work by a personal vehicle. Yet, I am not on the same page as these people. To my way of thinking, driving cars pollute the air with car fumes and waste non-renewable natural resources. From where I stand, people might be more sensitive to using any personal vehicle, whether they do not have to. So current roads can be enough for the community. In conclusion, what can be concluded from the aforementioned remarks is that although some individuals advocate spending more money into new roads, I firmly believe that railways have more benefits for not only communities but also nature. Because of these reasons, governments might spare more resources for railways.