In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one’s own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In certain areas of the world, it becomes a trend to have a pedigree analysis of one’s own family. It is because people want to be aware of their medical history due to growing disease rate nowadays. In my opinion, it is a positive development as it would help them to identify suspected inherited syndromes. Firstly, in recent years, a number of people prefer pedigree analysis of their families because they want to know their medical history as the disease rate in the increasingly prevalent around the globe. Moreover, it would help them to identify genetic ailments which run in the families and would eventually express in future generations, so family tree would help people to pre-diagnose inherited diseases. For instance, hearing loss is a genetic disorder which runs in the families of various areas of Pakistan. Secondly, I believe, diagnosing suspected congenital syndromes using family history would help people to get early counselling about particular syndromes as it would help them to take early precautions and have a proper medical checkup on time. Furthermore, it would also help people to know more about their family customs, values and even intelligence. For instance, in our country cousin marriages in one of the leading causes of hearing loss in families so by having family background information people can stop consanguineous marriages. To conclude, in particular regions of the world, people prefer to have a family history past because it would help them to identify various suspected diseases which run in their families and ultimately affect next generations. I believe it is a positive development as it will help them to take precautionary measures to control such ailments and also it will be beneficial in a long run for people to know about their family roots.