Some people think that it s necessary to involve the whole family into nurturing and upbringing a child, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

To raise a child is one of the most important and complex duties an adult can have. Some people consider that all the family members should be involved in children’s development, while others consider the opposite. This essay will discuss both views and will sustain the idea that all family members have an important role in upbringing children. An old proverb says that “there is needed a whole village to raise a child ”. In a family, each member has a specific role. A child has different needs that must be covered by the adults that surround him. For instance, the mother feeds the baby, takes care of his daily activities like eating at regular times, dressing up, washing and so on. In addition, the father has his part, to express the masculine authority which is extremely important in child ’s evolution in a long term. He can influence significantly the young’s interests and skills by playing together different sports and games. Last but not least, the grandparents have an important role in children’s emotional development, considering they have a lot of patience and empathy. All in all, if the whole family is involved in a child ’s nurturing, he/she will be an all-rounded adult later. On the other hand, some people consider that there is no needed for an entire family to raise a child. Unfortunately, nowadays, it is pretty common to see children being educated by single parents. For these children the sense of a family is seriously damaged and with negative effects on their emotional development in later life as adults. For example, in the school where I work, I have observed that more than half of the seven-year-old students were members of divorced families. These children had different kind of problems, like schedule issues, emotional difficulties in certain situations and so on. So, even if it is possible for one parent to nurture a child, it is not recommended, due to later undesired consequences. In conclusion, it is important that all the family members to be involved in upbringing a child. Even if nowadays we are witnessing single parents as common situations, however, it would be recommended to avoid it. In my opinion, every member of a family has its role in the child ’s development and it cannot be replaced.