In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Crime TV shows and crime books are becoming more popular worldwide. This is mainly due to the thrill associated with the experience of reading or watching them. In my opinion, although these narratives could bring joy to the audiences, they can pose a danger to the public. Crime fiction makes people feel more and more suspended to predict what will happen in the future. People like to put themselves in the shoes of a deductive to analyse and figure out the truth. This creates huge excitement, especially, if these narrations are being watched or read as a part of a group. For instance, whenever I read a tale for Agatha Christie, I always question myself at the end of what would happen next. This urge always pushes me to explore the rest of the story series. Because of this endless cycle of suspension, crime books and shows are becoming more common than ever before. I believe media material that contains offensive scenes could spread violence. Crime books and television shows are rich resources on how an individual can commit an offence. This is particularly dangerous for adolescents whose behaviour is more likely to be affected by what they see or read. They could mimic these risky techniques to obtain financial or personal gains. For instance, New York City has experienced a great increase in the number of thefts following the launch of the ‘Hunger Game’ film which centres around a group of people who steal to survive. In conclusion, even though media contents and novels that talk about crimes can be a source of enjoyment, they can paradoxically stimulate the young generation to become criminals in real-life.