Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as result, people gravitate towards buying their products. what problems does this cause? what could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Large amounts of money spent on advertising of the product encourages people to purchase them. This has tremendously affected the local business resulting in less sales. This can be controlled a number of ways as discussed below. The heavy investments on marketing of various products makes them tempting for people so they purchase the product without looking at its price. This has resulted in general public becoming extremely brand conscious and increased imports of these foreign products. The increased imports may affect the economy of government and generalised price hike. Moreover, the availability and marketing of these international products have resulted in reduced sales of local products which more or less have the same properties and effects, but due to lack of advertisements people are not convinced to purchase them. This may affect the local business and reduced sales and may eventually culminate in the closure of factories and industries in an area. This may adversely affect the economy of a country. People should be encouraged to buy local products and it can be done in a number of ways. The governments` tax on advertisements of local products may be reduced as marketing plays a key role in convincing people to purchase it. Hence, even with a small budget on marketing, products can be made popular. Moreover, the rulers should increase tax on import of such products, making them inaccessible to the general public so the local products will be utilised better. In addition, the locally synthesized consumer products should improve quality to make them compatible with international brands. For example, this has been done in some developing countries with varying degrees of success who have a quality assurance team on government level. This team conducts inspection of factories and industries and ensure best quality. In conclusion, people should be encouraged to consume local products as their sales play an important part in the prosperity of a country.