Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by a group of the population that being physically strong is a requirement for being good at sports, while the other group feels that being mentally strong is all that matters in order to excel in sports. This essay explores the viewpoint of both the groups and also provides a personal opinion on the topic. Physical strength is the need of the hour for individual sports requiring power. Non-team sports such as Weightlifting, Javelin and Shotput totally rely on a person's core body strength to excel. Olympic records and world records are often held by individuals who have the best physique during the event. For example, Cuban weightlifters are almost always the world record holders as they have chiselled body with great pulling power. By being psychologically sound, a person can make strong, tactful and strategic decisions, which are essential to overcome the opponents in a team sport. Team sports such as Soccer, Cricket require the players to be mentally strong in order to ensure that they do not get overcome by high pressure situations. For example, in 2018 Soccer World cup finals, the French players were well in control of their emotions, thereby ensuring an easy win against their opponent, Italy, to clinch the coveted trophy. To conclude, being physically and emotionally strong is essential for players succeed in their chosen sports. In my personal opinion, I would agree that being mentally strong to give a slight advantage to a player in order to win a clash against a strong opponent.