Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not others. Some people, therefore, think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevent subjects should not receive the government funding Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantage

The requirements of modern society have changed, as few subjects are required more compared to others. One probability to meet such requirements might be that governments should pay university fee of the specialities which they require to attract the students. There may be a few disadvantages of this policy, but the advantages are more pronounced. If tertiary education fees for few specialists are paid by the government it might attract students in apparently unattractive fields which students tend to avoid.One reason for avoidance may be the subject is difficult and other reasons may be future job prospects. For example, students avoid subjects like economics and statistics, but they are required by the state for several reasons. If the state pays for the fees of these apparently unattractive subjects, the students will be tempted to study them in university. Hence, the authority will utilise them in the fields required. Moreover, it will advantageous to lower socioeconomic group who cannot afford to pay the tuition fees. The students from poor backgrounds can study the subjects required by government and prove themselves productive members of society. This will ensure equal distribution of education in a locality. Admittedly, there are few disadvantages to this type of educational system. The concept of free tuition fees may attract the unwilling students who are not very interested in studies. They would join tertiary education just because it is free and may not pass exams. This may result in wastage of the precious tax money of the general public. Another disadvantage might be that the students who pay for their tuition fees may development resentment against the government for providing free education to selected students. This may create a division in the university atmosphere and disharmony amongst the students. In the long run, it may have a detrimental effect on the overall friendly atmosphere of society. In conclusion, the educational policy of free university education to the specialities scarcely available and beneficial to the state can prove extremely useful and can be recouped many times compared to the expenditure on it.