A lot of money is spent on repairing old buildings. Instead of repairing old buildings, that money should be spent on knocking down old buildings and building new one. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue related to countries allocating more funds to renovating buildings in poor condition has been heatedly debated by the population. Some feel that the amount of money invested in reparation is significant for the educational and cultural system. However, I totally agree with those who say that national budgets should prioritize the creation of modern spaces instead of repairing old structures because, even though it aids in children's historical knowledge, newer buildings are environmentally friendlier than in the past. Although one side of the argument claims that fixing a historic building has an impact on children’s education, it does not address environmental effects. Firstly, people often have this opinion because the history of an older building plays a role in society through history classes. Furthermore, the conservation of historical façades is done to protect the culture as a legacy for the next generation. To illustrate, children that are attending kindergarten can learn about modern art visiting those buildings, because they can absorb more visual information while they are physically there instead of listening passively in a classroom. Therefore, observing monuments are an educational strategy to increase their artistic skills. However, none of these points help to improve the environment. More importantly, demolishing old structures and erecting new buildings can have many positive effects on the cities’ environment. The main reason is the majority of old construction is not designed to be sustainable. Moreover, old infrastructure has a high cost of maintenance due to the inefficient heating system. It is also essential to point out that when there is a project to construct a green building, it is carried out in an eco-friendly way. An example of this is the new houses in Toronto, located near the Yonge–Eglinton area, which are not only using solar energy panels to save heat in the winter season, but are also decreasing the amount of carbon emissions. Thus, it is evident that moving forward, these types of modern buildings will only benefit a society as opposed to the old, dilapidated infrastructure from the past. To sum up, despite both arguments having their merits, I believe investing in new areas should take priority over fixing old buildings because the new architecture brings ecological benefits. As I have mentioned, it is recommended that the society increase funds to invest in places that generate clean electricity and lower maintenance costs.