Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communication, and people use more and more social media to communicate, and to follow news and events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media has transformed the conventional ways of communication, leading to an increasing use of media platforms to interact among individuals and keep up with social activities. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this shift exceed its advantages, and I will propose the potential reasons. To start with, one compelling argument in favor of my stance is the difficulty of making deep connections in society. This is because some people have recognized face-to-face communication as less efficient and a waste of time. Instead, they put more value on social media as an alternative communication method; hence, this tendency has undergone a crucial change in the frequency of in-person conversations, which means that the number of such conversations has decreased in recent years. As a result, the innovative situation has made it challenging for individuals to form strong bonds in society. Moreover, the decreasing number of communications can erode the quality of interaction. For example, nowadays, WhatsApp and Skype have become prevalent in the workplace, and in most cases, office workers have taken online meetings, which they may find challenging to keep up with the ongoing talk. One key reason for that is that sometimes they miss out on non-verbal cues, such as facial expressions and gestures, so this condition poses a risk of misunderstanding in these meetings; therefore, over-reliance on social media is harmful to daily conversations. On the other hand, one key idea supporting the use of social media is the greater accessibility it offers. Namely, people have easy access to the Internet from the comfort of home, which allows individuals to collect information anytime and play music anytime; hence, the existence of social media partly presents a positive trend. In conclusion, for the above reasons, the existence of social media has both pros and cons. However, considering the risks of undermining human interactions and the quality of communication, its drawbacks outweigh the advantages.