Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this age of the internet, with cutting-edge technology in knowledge sharing, some believe that public libraries are redundant, while others oppose this idea. In my essay, I would discuss both the viewpoints and give my personal opinion. On the one hand, community reference centres have lost their charm to the world of cyberspace. Ease of access to boundless data with the added advantage of audio and visual effects has resulted in fewer individuals approaching libraries for procuring material. In addition, communal books rooms have limited working hours and located in city centres. Millennials prefer surfing online, since, it is less exhausting and available at any time without any travel involved. For example, a person seeking a low-cost book for his research, would prefer to browse online to a community reference centre located far away. On the other hand, national libraries represent the culture and historical values of the nation. They are known for large collection of ancient books and parchment papers, the feel of which cannot be experienced through online platforms. For example, the Tanjore public library is a heritage site, well-known for its collection of ancient etchings which is unavailable online in its true form. Likewise, almost every piece of input available at these centres is veracious, whereas, authenticity of articles found online cannot be verified. This corroborates the need for local libraries in the society. In conclusion, despite technology, ensuring easy-access to data, I strongly believe that public libraries are essential in imparting factual knowledge with added insight to prehistoric ideologies. The traditional libraries could lure youngsters if digital and modern facilities are included to enhance their experience.