In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In the 21st century, taking a break before starting university or college studies is quite common among young generations. This action sure has a lot of advantages, but there will also be some drawbacks. First and foremost, giving oneself time to rest before starting a harder study schedule is quite beneficial concerning to students’ mental and physical health condition. If students do nothing but study, they will become tired of it and will not be able to endure all hardships. However, when they take a one year break, they will have time to rest their minds and think about their preferences about academic life. According to the survey conducted among Singaporean students, the ones who took breaks after finishing high school said that there are myriad positive outcomes that result from it. Additionally, while having a time to think for one’s future and preferences, the students may change their mind. They may come to conclusion that the major they have chosen is not adequate for them. For example, there are a great number of people who admitted that they have decided to change their majors after having a moment to think about their subsequent lifestyle. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages that cannot be undenied not done undone. A student can grow to be reluctant and lose their enthusiasm if they take breaks after finishing high school. Some people lose their interest and desire to learn after having a long rest. For instance, the 20% of jobless people are the ones who lost their enthusiasm after finishing high school. In addition to this, there are some other numerous demerits of working or travelling for a year as well. For example, it the students’ family cannot afford the money to travel, taking a break may be meaningless for the students. In conclusion, given these points, as every coin has two sides; taking a break can be a good opportunity for students to reflect on their forthcoming career and make better career choices. On the other side, it can ruin their future, staying away from working may make them lose their desire to further studies. For these reasons, one should evaluate all the benefits and drawbacks before taking an action.