The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniably true that there has been a tremendous development in the technology, nowadays. Some people think that this development has led to a fall in the rate of crime, while I argue that there has been no significant decrease in the criminal activities in the society, in fact they have risen enormously. Firstly, the increasing rate of cybercrime is a major concern, after the improvement in the technology. For example, in Pakistan, a few months back, there was a group of people who misused the technological advancement and robbed the people of their money. They, impersonated as army officials, called the innocent people, forced them to share their credit card and bank account details and stole hundreds of thousands of cash online, abusing the facility of internet banking. Furthermore, there are a few websites, that are not secure, as they track your details during online payment and later the users are left awestruck when they realize that those so-called trusted web pages have actually robbed them. Secondly, the number of kidnappings, especially for ransom money, street crime and killings, have also increased in the past few years, and the modern technology contributes largely to this increment. For instance, there have been reports of students being kidnapped by their unknown Facebook friends, who happen to be criminals, following them only to fulfil their villain desires. Moreover, the newly developed ammunition is also used by some people to spread terror in the society and threaten the citizens. To conclude, although the main reason for which the modernized gadgets were made, that is to provide the safety and security to the people, has been left far behind, because with their introduction and easy accessibility, the number of fraudsters, kidnappers and street robberies have increased hugely. And unfortunately, the caretakers of the citizens have failed to provide them with the actual benefits of this advancement.