Some people say smoking should be banned on public places. To what extent do u agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that smoking is injurious to health. While one can argue that, it is someone's choice to smoke, I completely agree that people should be careful who are they smoking in front of, and it should be prohibited in public areas. Firstly, if there are children present in common areas such as parks and malls, smoking can do damage. This is because their lungs and brain are in the developing stage, and should not come in contact with any pollutant. In addition, It is possible a kid might pick up the habit after watching someone do it. For instance, if a child's parents smoke, they are at a greater risk of becoming smokers later in life. The possible solution to this would be, to ban it in all public spots, especially when kids are present. Secondly, people get influenced easily by any bad habit. If we see anyone of status and power performing it, we are more likely to repeat it. For example, usually young individuals start smoking in their teenage, due to the fact that, they saw one of their friends do it. Furthermore, one more factor is, peer pressure in the office environment. If you saw your boos smoking, you feel the social pressure and start doing the same to impress them. Adults should realise that, they might be a role model to someone, and it is their responsibility to behave appropriately. To conclude, smoking kills more people than air pollution, or any other type of pollution. Unless strict rules are made with regards to public smoking, this problem will only escalate. I feel, it should be a combined effort of individuals and governments, to take responsibility, and educate children about this in order to spread awareness.