Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the advent of modern high-speed trains, people argue that authorities should invest in railway lines instead of traditional roads. In my opinion, however, I take issue with this view because of the reasons below. Spending money on roads will bring many indispensable advantages for people. Firstly, a good system of roads will untangle problems of traffic such as traffic jam and accidents. Since current streets are quite small and old, there is likelihood that people are delayed at rush hours and their vehicles are damaged by the obstacles. If these lines are modernized, the time on the road of commuters will be cut down and life time of conveyors might be boosted. Besides, an advanced traffic will create a beautiful image for cities. As a result, such places could have opportunities to develop other fields such as tourism and business. In comparison with roads, the expenditure on the railways has its pros and cons. On the one hand, people in favour of trains argue that such transportation gives them novel feelings when they have long journeys, therefore they want the lines to be expanded to many other destinations. Moreover, if railways and trains are improved, they can carry more passengers. Accordingly, the number of private vehicles and exhaust will be decreased. On the other hand, railways are truly complex structures, therefore they might cost the governments. When governments’ revenue is insufficient, they might impose new laws to their citizens. In this case, people will suffer from drawbacks of these lines. In conclusion, I believe that both railways and roads have their own benefits, however I do not suppose that the former could outweigh the latter.