More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the technology has altered our working style and gave the chance to the employees to do their job duties from home. While some people claim that this has a positive impact for both the companies and the workforce, others argue it has a negative effect on the companies. I agree to some extent with working from home as it has some advantages such as flexibility and disadvantages such as less productivity. This essay will discuss both sides of the arguments and provide a conclusion with my opinion. To begin with, there are several advantages linked with working from home. Firstly, working from home reduces the time wasted during the commute. As a result, they will start their work with full power and energy without feel exhausted from the traffic. For example, the workers do not need to awake very early in the morning to go to the office, and they will start working from home with a fresh mind. Secondly, Working from home gives the employee the flexibility to manage their family matters without impacting their performance. By doing this, the workforce will be able to balance between their personal life and professional career. On the other hand, working from home has some negative factors. To commence with, employees will lose their motivation during working from home, and they might not give the work the needed importance. As a result, the production might be reduced and the delivery of the tasks will be delayed. In addition, working from office enhance the workforce collaboration and the social life. Due to this, working from home will increase the tension between the employees and impact the task that requires more collaboration between the team members. For instance, some activities need a face to face meeting for brainstorming and discussion, which require all the team members to be in the office. To sum up, there is no doubt that working from home has advantages such as flexibility, but it is linked with many disadvantages that impact the productivity of the employees. However, I profoundly believe that the advantages of working from home will be an added value to the companies and the employees, if it is regulated by processes and rules to control it.