The use of personal cars has increased more than ever before but this use of cars causes many problems. What are those problems? To reduce these problems, should we discourage people to use cars? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In the modern era, technological advancement has left no stone unturned. Transportation facilities around the world have also benefited from such advancement. However, people have started using personal cars more instead of using public transportation. This essay would discuss the problems associated with the increased use of personal cars and how these could be reduced followed by a reasonable conclusion. In many developed countries, the mode of transportation is considered a status symbol in the society. People have started buying more and more cars without thinking about its detrimental effects on the environment. To start with, the rise in the number of vehicles on the roads has led to an increase in air pollution as the engines operate on petrol and diesel. For instance, recently in India the Air Quality Index rose to alarming levels due to air pollution caused by vehicles that have affected people of all age groups especially young children and elderly with respiratory problems and skin diseases. Moreover, it also affects people using public transport as traffic congestions result in wastage of valuable time. However, it is only fair to advise and encourage people to use public transport whenever possible rather than using personal cars daily. Governments around the globe have funded public transports to provide the best services to its citizens. Many air-conditioned trolleys and buses are employed, which run on electricity or CNG which do not pollute the environment. Car pooling methods are also promoted by governments and people, which also helps people to socialize and enjoy the comfort of personal cars as well. In real-time, people who carpool have the facility of driving in a different lane than regular lanes which saves time and also provides a better fuel economy. To conclude, if we want to save the environment for future generations, there must be a joint effort of government and people in discouraging the use of personal cars and encouraging various methods discussed above for better life quality and a healthier environment.