The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade. This has made overseas travel much more accessible. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

There is no doubt that people are flying more these days. Airline ticket prices have fallen drastically and individuals are flying frequently. This essay will discuss some benefits and drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, the two main advantages of this are time saving and increase tourism. The flight between New York and London is reduced to 8 hours, due to the super-sonic commercial aircraft Concord. This saves a lot of time for people. Tourism is booming due to this trend. For example, 50 years ago families used to take local vacations, but now the flights the so inexpensive that everybody prefers travelling abroad. Countries such as Dubai has their whole economy, build around tourism. Furthermore, local vendors are also benefiting. This is because when individuals travel in other countries, they tend to buy local items. Which as a result helps the local economy. On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages also. With increasing competition in airlines, they are struggling to make a profit. Hence customers' comfort is generally neglected. To illustrate, some companies are buying overused aircrafts. Because of this, the customers' safety is directly at risk. In addition, the modern planes are so packed to increase seating, they are lacking in basic safety gears. One more side-effect of cheap flights is over-tourism. For instance, some of the cities in Italy have become so polluted because of this, and all the famous tourist attractions have over five hour wait time. To conclude, although flying has become accessible and beneficial, it has some negatives. If it's helping a country grow by improving the economy, there are harmful effects like over-tourism.