Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays people are watching the same films, brands, advertisements and TV channels. To what extent do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advanatges?

In light of the proliferation of technology, people are able to communicate worldwide, leading to cross-cultural interactions. Therefore, the disparities between countries are shortened, resulting in a trend of watching the same TV channel. Although companies can promote their goods through this tendency, this writer contends that it may cause ethnocide and conflicts between countries. There is no doubt that bridging the gap between nations provides opportunities for national brands to advertise. Specifically, by abbreviating the distance of countries, those companies can expand their marketplace easily and export products globally. It is evident that retailers can recognize the current trend of customers and fulfill their demand through overall TV programs, therefore, decreasing the excessive products to gain profit. For instance, the BBC record has consistently shown that teenagers are more likely to gravitate toward luxury fashion brands, by comprehending this, former companies could give suitable plans to satisfy this. Notwithstanding the aforementioned advantage, a similar watching trends not only cause culture loss, but on contrary also create arguments among residents. If viewers depend on watching foreign shows, there will be fewer traditional channels and programs, causing a lack of interest in national culture. Consequently, ethnocide is going to happen which may lead to the destruction of a country. Besides that, it is vital to understand that each nation has different cultures causing several points of view, therefore, conflicts are inevitable. Those arguments will make the friendship between states worse. Taking Vietnam and China as a prime example, despite previously existing arguments, residents there are still watching and have the same tendency, as a result, more and more conflicts occur leading to bad foreign relations. In conclusion, the benefit of promoting goods is eclipsed by the drawbacks of possible ethnocide and dissension among inhabitants. Thus, TV channel should not be observed worldwide.