Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

Road accidents have always been the main concern as the solution for this situation is still a debatable discussion. Strict punishment for driving offences has been suggested as a key to reduce the frequency of traffic accidents. However, some people believe that other measures should be taken in order to improve road safety. Personally, I can understand these two opposing points of views. While I agree that punishment can be an effective way to reduce accidents, I also believe that it can be combined with other methods as well to solve the problem. On the one hand, I understand why strict punishments are needed in maintaining traffic order. If it had not been for the heavy fines, people would not voluntarily follow the rules and regulations and would break them if possible. In my country, for example, the number of deaths caused by drive accidents has risen significantly in recent years, especially around occasions like Tet holiday when traffic police does not appear very frequently. As a result, people drive more recklessly and break many rules because they are not afraid of being caught or charged with a heavy fine. Strict punishments, in a way, have served as a reminder for people to follow the rules when driving on the streets. On the other hand, I also appreciate the view that other measures are required beside the punishment to improve the road safety. While fines can be effective in reminding people not to make the same mistakes again, in the long run, it may cause certain backfire effects onto the behaviour of people. In some cases, they may no longer care or even ignore the rules as the fine is not effective anymore to alter their behaviour. In my opinion, other methods such as graphic or visual advertisements that send out educational messages about road rules will be more effective, as it can approach to a large audience at a wider scale. Promoting and encouraging people to follow transport rules through media like TV, radio or newspapers would enhance awareness, thus making them more likely to change their behaviour. All in all, even though strict punishments can be applied as one of the methods to increase transportation safety, it cannot be considered as the key measure to resolve the issue. I believe that there are other more important methods that can contribute much significant impact to the situation.