More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, an increasing number of women are bearing children when they are over 40 which was not the case before. In my opinion, I believe the problems outshines the advantages in that, a woman may develop medical issues at an old age or have problems getting pregnant. Firstly, a lot of the female population is more interested in developing their careers. This was not the case in the past when women had kids in their 20s and 30s. In other words, they prefer to first develop their professional lives before thinking about having offsprings. For example, my sister decided to get married at age 37 and had her first child at 38years so she could concentrate on Law school. Secondly, more women are discovering that how delicate child rearing decision is so, they are taking their time to be certain. Finally, men are not as responsible as they were before, this in turn makes ladies to be more meticulous in the choice of who they will reproduce with and it may take time. For instance, a friend was heartbroken by her partner of 5years while she was already 38years, it may take another two years to bounce back and make up her mind about kids. In my opinion, the downside definitely overrides the advantages. There are two major drawbacks to people deciding to have children at older ages. One is the fact that their biological clock is ticking and they may experience difficulties conceiving. Another point to note is that, despite that they may want to build their careers, they may not get the type of relationship they desire when they are available to take that step. Also, there are more health conditions associated with older people, such as fibroid, ovarian issues and the likes. Take for instance, my colleague who planned to have babies at 40years, she had to wait for another three years because she encountered Fallopian problems. In conclusion, the women folk should make up their minds on bringing forth babies as earliest as possible. However, anyone that wants to delay should invest in freezing their eggs so they have that option in the future.