Some people believe that the violence shown in movies and video games has a damaging effect on society. While others believe that these don’t have an influence on people’s behaviour. What is your opinion?

According to some, the violence displayed in movies & computer games creates havoc in society, whereas other folks believe it does not have any influence. But, based on my experience, extreme violence can affect the way people think and alter their actions, which in turn creates irreparable damage to our society. Hence, I support the former claim and I have the following reasons to support my stance. Nowadays, most of the cinema and games have become too much realistic in order to attract the audience. Due to this, the entertainment production house adds too much action and assault with guns, machetes etc to keep their users engaged. Hence, when a normal person views these contents, they get instigated by such thoughts and push them to try it somewhere. In many cases, these people test these either in their homes or in the community. For example, in countries like the US, where increased usage of guns and explosives are displayed on these entertainment platforms, citizens imitate those actions on social media platforms to get more viewership and in extreme cases, engage in actual shootouts in public areas killing many innocent souls as a result. Furthermore, these flicks and games are not only watched or played by the mature audience. In fact, many children under 18 years of age, watch these videos either with their family or alone, when no one is around. Since, it is quite difficult to separate the right and the wrong in their age, there is an increased chance that these juveniles might follow the wrong path, which can damage our future civilization. For example, in a recent report from an Indian daily, criminal incidents among juveniles are growing due to their increased media usage, which is a concern for the state. There is no doubt, that these movies & games are for entertainment purposes, which helps the population to unwind and relax. Yet, in my opinion, I think these create more problems for society. The current growing trend of criminal incidents across the community, all point towards increased violence on these platforms. Hence, government intervention and viewers' discretion are highly recommended.