Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Museums are educational places. However, nowadays, people have to pay an entrance fee to enter galleries. Although, this phenomenon can lead to negative effects, I believe that has more benefits than drawbacks. Entrance fees increase the income of museums and they will have money to operate personnel cost, equipment, electricity, renovating the damaged areas and water bills. This will result in museums can generate their own revenue to improve the place effectively to attract people. For example, to update their exhibits and keep the place clean and good-looking and fees can provide a hassle-free entry to others who actually want to gain knowledge. I have visited a large number of museums and I have learnt that museums, which sell tickets are better than those that do not charge for tickets in terms of places, information. Some galleries take money for charity to help the orphanage, old age homes, the animal shelter. It cannot be denied that the price of tickets can bring about the detrimental impacts to people and museums. From the people’s perspective, they cannot afford to attend exhibitions that have paid. From museums’ perspective, they cannot attain one of their objectives to develop people. In conclusion, charging an entry fee may certainly reduce the number of people visiting the museum; however, it generates revenue which can be used for the proper maintenance of the place. Over time, this may actually increase the number of visitors; hence, in my opinion, the advantages of collecting a fee from the visitors outweigh the disadvantages.