In many countries around the world, shopping has turned into a form of entertainment rather than a way of getting what people need. Discuss the reason behind this trend. Is it a positive or negative development

Purchasing new products has become a chronic feature of this contemporary era. The main culprit behind this phenomenon is the influence of famous figures on their audiences. However, this issue will lead to a worldwide catastrophe in the foreseeable future due to the harmful impact of this trend on living creatures. To embark on, social media icons play an instrumental role in influencing other individuals and controlling their desires. To illustrate, if a celebrity who is followed by a myriad of others shares his luxurious lifestyle and posts his latest items with the public, his followers will be influenced to mimic his attitude; consequently, they might buy things they do not need to imitate their favourite celebrity. Additionally, these deeds can bring happiness via several hormonal changes that happen upon purchasing a brand new item. This can be exemplified by an article conducted by a group of Iraqi psychologists who claimed that owning new products which have been sponsored by a famous character increases dopamine levels, which is the hormone responsible for the happiness feelings, inside human bodies. This example shows that owning new goods could elevate the happiness level. Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned point, it can be still claimed that being a throw-away society has a detrimental impact on the ecosystem. In other words, the majority of the current available products have been made of non-recyclable materials such as plastic which might resist the degradation process for up to one hundred years. As a result, other living species will come under threat of death via swallowing these harmful substances. For instance, according to the National Geographic journal approximately one million animals die annually due to plastic waste. What can be said here is that buying items regularly could negatively affect the environment and do harm to a wide variety of organisms. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, it can be argued that public figures have a direct correlation with the increasing level of purchasing by people who want to mimic their idols. However, this ongoing trend has a deleterious impact on the environment and consequently the animals that may eat the plastic materials,which cannot be digested, and die.