Nowadays, technology such as mobile phones are reducing social interactions. Do you agree?

It is often argued that mobile phones, which is one of the most state-of-the-art technological products, have led to the reduction of social interactions. I agree with this viewpoint because it is widening the familial relationships. Also, it has brought about sedentary lifestyle. Undoubtedly, mobile phone usage has led to security. In other words, a person can call anyone in case of crimes. People, especially parents, can call their wards to know where they are. Never before have parents been able to know about the whereabouts of their children from minute after minute. However, use of cell phones has widen a gap among families. These days individuals are dominated and driven by social networking sites, leaving them no time for social interactions. The internet has become a temptation, particularly for young ones, often surpassing the importance of caretakers. An article in ' The Tribune' reported that an average child in India is exposed to 10 hours of internet daily. Another reason is the sedentary lifestyle. Due to invention in technology, most of the people, often complete their work from the living room through video conferencing. As a result, they do not go out of their house which in turn lowers social interactions. In India, 40 percent employees have the facility of telecommuting. In conclusion, it is true that cell phones ensure the protection of humans; however, I take the view that it's lowering interactions among people and cause sedentary lifestyle.