Some people say that teenagers should work part-time and earn money. This way they will learn basic lessons about work and become more disciplined. Other argue that teenagers shouldn’t sacrifice their rest and after-school activities to work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views on whether teenagers should do part-time jobs to earn money, through which they can learn basic manners and discipline, or focus on other important activities, such as spending time with friends and relaxing, instead of giving up their free time to work. This essay will explain both views with suitable explanations and examples, along with my point of view. The principal cause behind the thinking that teenagers should engage in work to get paid is to stay busy in good activities; as according to some parents, if their children play with others and have enough free time, then they might become a part of a bad circle and adopt some bad habits such as drug or alcohol consumption; conversely, engaging in work is a beneficial opportunitiy for them to become responsible and nurture their talents and learn new skills which will be helpful for their future. For example, by comparing Canada and India, it can be observed that the youngsters of Canada have more skills and are more independent, whereas the Indians need their parents to make any decision because of the lack of real-life experience. Moving further, on the other side, opponents believe that by involving themselves in part-time work, children lose their chances of other activities and rest due to several reasons, the first and foremost being hectic schedules. To explain, students already have academic pressure from a plethora of subjects such as math, English, environmental studies, social science, communication, and so on; so, part-time work not only makes them unable to enjoy their life but also increase working and study pressure, which results in mental illness, stress and tension headache. For instance, last year, when I moved from India to Canada, I started work as an office assistant with my studies, and then just after a few months, I developed a bad headache, and later the doctor confirmed that it was because of tension and stress. To conclude, I opine that it is the youth's own choice whether they want to work or not because everyone is not the same; some people can handle the burden of both, while some cannot. So it has advantages for their health and studies if they take some rest rather than doing work.