Childhood obesity /əʊˈbiː.sə.ti/ is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? What solutions can be offered?

In today’s society, a growing number of overweight offspring has sparked a degree of controversy among people due to its serious public health challenges in many nations. Although this problem can be attributed to a plethora of reasons, some feasible measures can be considered to address this. There are a number of understandable reasons for the rising levels of childhood obesity. The first reason is unhealthy eating habits.Since monkeys nowadays tend to consume too much fast food, such as candy and soft drinks, they are more likely to be overweight. In fact, studies have shown that fast food is very high in fat and sugars but low in vitamins and minerals, which would cause kids to gain weight quickly.Another undeniable reason is sedentary /ˈsed.ən.tər.i/ lifestyles. If kids spend too much time watching television, browsing the internet or playing video games, as opposed to engaging in physical outdoor activities like playing football or going swimming, they do not burn excess /ɪkˈses/ calories. Therefore, they are becoming increasingly obese. /əʊˈbiːs/ There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problems mentioned above. Firstly, it is important for parents to control what their children eat to make sure they have a healthy diet. This means that parents should educate them about the detrimental effects of an imbalanced diet so that they can make healthier food choices, which could prevent kids from obesity. Secondly, one of the most effective solutions to tackle this problem would be for parents to restrict the time their children spend on sedentary activities and encourage them to take regular exercise. It is clear that children find it easy to sit for hours on end and be glued to a screen due to attractive entertainment programs on television. Hence, parents should set a time limit of 30 to 60 minutes for the day. Thirdly, unhealthy junk food should be banned from school menus and fast- food advertising should be limited. In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the increase in child obesity and measures should be implemented to tackle this issue