Nowadays, there is a trend that the media focuses on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree?

Media, being one of the main channels to bring the up-to-date updates to the doors of the society has evolved at a greater course over the decades. There have been various debates about the contents delivered to the viewers, where some believe that the media is exclusively focusing on negative matters over the positive growths. In my opinion, though this might have an adverse effect on people’s mind, but it alerts about the environs. To begin with, news reporters are not only responsible to convey positive matters to the society, but also news related to crime and tragedies. Although, delivering negative matters may raise a concern in people’s mind, but it will also alert the public. Subsequently, this will create awareness amongst the individuals and on-going issues in the surroundings. For example, news channels in India broadcast various shows associated with criminal offences and their consequences. Initially, these shows showed low viewers which gradually raised over a year. In addition to this, problematic news grabs the attention of the viewer and remind them often, wherein, good matters tend to leave a short spot on people’s minds. A study about the television viewer ship in China, revealed that the target audience, who were exposed to the criminal contents thrice a day, took better precautions to protect themselves from such crimes as compared to those that were exposed only once. To summarize, though these contents are harmful to the individual and to the society, but has a greater influence in their life’s. In current scenario where crime rates and disasters are high, media can play a vital role in exposing such threats to the public rather than just focusing on positive development