Many people choose to work or live abroad because of the higher standards of living they can find outside their home country. Do you think this brings more advantages or disadvantages to the people who follow this path?

A rising number of people prefer to emigrate to foreign countries considering the improved lifestyle and standard of living these places offer. While, this might be true to some extent, I personally feel that every person should consider the pros and cons of the same and in my viewpoint the disadvantages far extend the advantages for people who prefer this. People are usually unaware of the cost of living in these countries and most of them ending up taking jobs that are below the qualifications they have acquired. Firstly, migration to a developed country comes with higher expenses that are often underestimated by people.They convert their income earning capacity based on the foreign currency and although this might be very close to their home currency, they get lured by the same. In some instances, the income earned might be significantly lower, which is further worsened if the person has taken leverage.So, effectively some end up with a lower standard of living. Secondly, in most countries the degrees that have been earned from one's universities are often not accepted. Furthermore, the work experiences earned from abroad are underrated which leads to many people taking a setback in their work life. For instance, some professional qualifications like accountants and doctors are forced to take up further studies which are often very expensive and forces people to further increase their debt obligations. In conclusion, one should carefully analyse immigration and the prospects carefully because it involves complete relocation to another country. It involves transferring of families, assets and being completely away from one's home.If the country you are planning to move does not provide you with a significant markup in terms of living standards, and does not recognize your hard earned qualification, then I am of the opinion that you should reconsider your decision.