10.Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Fresh produce is more frequently used in air transportation and is exported by fruits and vegetables into countries where it is out of the season or impossible to grow. The advantages of this are that consumers can enjoy a wide range of fresh fruits and vegetables at all years and some countries rely on imported food to feed their people. However, this puts a tremendous increase on the environment because of harmful farming methods and pollution produced by Aeroplan. One benefit of importing fruits and vegetables is the wide range of products that can be found throughout the years. Some countries are only able to produce a specific session, so, without imports, they would not be able to consume fruits and vegetables all year. Moreover, imported produce is a vital rule for gradually increased economic in some countries. This is because some countries have not grown specific fruits and their harsh environmental problem is land degradation. For instance, India is mostly desert and relies largely on imported produce. On the other hand, exporting food often results in farming practices that damage the environment. The extra demand overseas for the markets where domestic products are not sold increased, so, the need for exporters is import lots of fruits, domestic producers increase their food production, which often means using dangerous pesticides and fertilisers. This is compounded when you consider air pollution caused by aeroplanes. Each time food is exported a huge time safe, fuel burned is consumed a huge amount, resulting in carbon emission that contributes to global warming. For example, it is estimated that 12000 tons of carbon dioxide are released into the atmosphere every year by planes carrying food from tropical countries. In conclusion, while exporting produce overseas allows people to eat a variety of fresh fruits and vegetables throughout the year and is essential for people in some countries to survive, it is important to pay attention to the costs to the environment caused by air transport and changes to farming methods.