Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this statement?

I disagree with the generic opinion of the public that every person is responsible for his own health and should not depend on the government to provide him medical benefits. In my essay, I would discuss the reasons why citizens cannot be always accountable for their health concerns and how government can aid in this regard. Firstly, in localities with poor sanitation and unhygienic surroundings, residents cannot be held accountable for their ailments. The immediate environment suppresses their immunity and self- care alone would not safeguard them from illnesses. Secondly, with the industrialization, the air and water contamination has given rise to several diseases in the neighbourhood, which is not controllable by any individual or a sect of the society. For example, from the Bhopal gas tragedy, people are still suffering from respiratory disorders, blame of which cannot be placed at the victim’s doorstep. As a reason, government needs to ensure health care subsidies, to improve its citizen’s well-being. Primarily, health care is not a priority to lower sections of the social order, providing free medical care to such segments would encourage them to avail the services resulting in a healthy nation. For example, India with more than 30% below the poverty line, the absence of free health aids would put the country in major crisis. Similarly, free health care can also help the country’s administration to control epidemics. If not free, the poor wouldn’t approach a medical facility for regular checks, such evasion would increase casualties during any contagion and national economy fall drastically. To sum up, it is true that one’s health is his own hands, but in today’s world external factors have a significant effect on one’s well-being. Therefore, in countries with socialistic views, free health care should be given to the needy, while insisting on the stipulation personal hygiene and addictions free lifestyle.