It is argued that the parents of children who break the rules should be punished in some ways as parents are responsible for the children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is debated by some people that parents of children who breach the case, should be penalized in the same ways. I disagree, as no parent would ever encourage his or her infant to become a criminal, and punishing the parents for the fault of one juvenile would be unfair to the other siblings. Parents, no matter how many offences they have committed themselves, would never persuade their youth to break the mandate. That is to say, parents have an innate desire, to raise their kids to become a successful, case-abiding citizen. However, kids these days hardly ever listen to their parents, and yearn for independence, at a very early age, from their parents and ruling. For instance, a recent survey in the UK showed, almost 80% of the children who were caught shoplifting, were already being seriously condemned and punished by their parents. Another reason I am against punishing the parents for the crimes of their child is that this would be unfair to the other innocent siblings. They have done nothing wrong, and thus, don’t deserve to have their parents taken away from them. Putting their parents in jail would also increase their chances of following the bad path and the whole family would be destroyed. Children raised in social care centres and foster homes are known to have 10 times more personality disorders and violent temperaments. In conclusion, parents should not be convicted for their children breaking the law, as they try their best to deter them from doing so. Moreover, this will be unjust to the other siblings who didn’t commit any offence.