Currently, there is a trend toward alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst, they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Many people believe in using alternative medicines to treat their illnesses. Traditional forms of remedy have been around for centuries and include the uses of herbs, elements, oils and even energy transference. It is vital to assess the utility of such treatments in a modern world of medication for the benefits of patients. Although some individuals asserting that alternative medicine is a negative, this is completely inaccurate because different medicine is extremely inexpensive and effective intervention for most ailments. Firstly, many forms of alternative medicines are quite affordable for the general public and can be easily accessed. In many cases, traditional remedies can be bought for just a few dollars, or even produced in a person's garden, as where modern pharmaceuticals may cost ten times as much to cure the same illness. For example, antibiotics used to treat a bacterial infection can cost a hundred dollars for a few pills, however, natural antibiotics like parsley and garlic costs just a few cents. Not only cost-efficiency is one benefit of using natural medication, as well as, they are truly effective. Furthermore, natural medicines often target the root of medical problems, as opposed to just the symptoms, and have positive long-lasting results. The use of many ancient therapies and herbs is concerned with strengthening the human body, specifically the afflicted individual's immune system, rather than just attacking the pathogens which cause the sickness. The same garlic and parsley used to treat a bacterial infection, not only helps to cleanse the body, but also boosts the immunity, so that the person's natural defences can restore health. In conclusion, the notion that traditional medicines can invaluable is completely absurd, as they are often less expensive and more effective. Therefore, different medication is an absolutely worthwhile approach to healing. In the end, it is foolish to think that our ancestors did not know what they were doing.