In today’s world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an argumentative phenomenon that in today's world, most scientific studies are not funded and carried out by high-ranking bureaucrats, but private enterprises. This reality has both merits and demerits, however its redeeming features can not outweigh its counterparts. Without a shadow of a doubt, the world needs well-established firms to carry out scientific research. It is due to the fact that those reputed companies can pour their huge cash flow into hiring numerous talented experts to conduct helpful experiments. For instance, Vingroup which is a nationally acclaimed business run by Pham Nhat Vuong has allocated big investments in specific vaccines to deal with highly contagious COVID-19. Hence, private corporations may bring great contributions to far-reaching scientific research. While the redeeming features of the mentioned phenomenon are widely acknowledged, its downsides still linger. To be more precise, because governments are not involved in the transparency and effectiveness of private institutions’ products, those with profitable purposes may be dangerous to consumers. For example, drug companies may cut costs to become as lucrative as they can, therefore lower quality items may be manufactured to become an unuseful placebo or medicines with lethal side effects. Therefore, there are worries about the safety of products without any state’s authenticity. In conclusion, acclaimed private firms have a comparatively great positive influence on academic research, however, there is likely a chance for those with bad purposes to do harm to our society. Thus, governments should participate in more steps to test and modify the products to gain more trust from consumers.