Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, & what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Many criminals re offends more after they suffer the initial sentence. The reasons behind this unpleasant event and also the measures that can be taken to solve it will be the topics in this essay. The main problem that leads offender to redo crimes after they are released from jail is that the trial did not give the programmed effect. Being for a long time in jail increase the possibility of being in contact and company with other criminals who might encourage the prisoners to do the same crime after they get out of it. As a result of these factors a criminal is potential danger after the first punishment for the society. For example, according to a detailed report from the Directorate of Prisons in USA, has shown that about 70% of criminals have repeated the same crime after being released as they were not able to reintegrate into society and to control themselves. An effective method to solve and moreover to prevent this disturbing problem is to implement alternative ways of punishment. For a faster reintegration into society, to convert the jail sentence with long hours of community work is considered the best solution. Denmark is the prime example of how the exchange of the retribution to the unpaid and obligated work in the community has led to a decrease with 50 percent of recidivist crimes. To conclude, using the unpaid work in the community instead of harsh retribution it is seen as an effective way to deal with this issue. If the Government implement this solution, the number of criminals who commit the same crime after the first sentence will be decreased drastically.