Topic: There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Other than writing and painting, music is another prevalent form of art, using the artistic rhythm of sounds. Music is of great essence to us for various reasons, and I believe traditional music is more important than the common international music. Music teaches us many things about life. As children, we live in the sweet lullabies about family that our mothers sing to us at night until we fall asleep. Later in life, we are able to understand more profoundly about love and passion and other virtues through many songs. Music is also for relaxation because we listen to music when we are stressful or sad. Its soothing melodies can drive away all the pressure and frustration that we have to face every day. And for many people, music is a form of escapism from the suffocation of their lives since they can find serenity in music. From my perspective, traditional music should be more valued than international music which has gained so much popularity all over the world. International music is merely catchy and appealing, but its lyrics have no virtuous or meaningful messages. Especially this kind of music has recently been used for commercial purposes to promote reputation of a business in the global market, so it has no values at all. Traditional music, on the other hand, conveys the culture and history of a country which will last for eternity. It not only connects the past to the present but also represents the identity of people who live in that country. In conclusion, music is undoubtedly necessary for human beings, and I always believe that the role of traditional music should be more recognized than that of international music. (282 words)