Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed by many that information pertaining to scientific research, business and education world should be shared as much as possible. While the rest believe that a part of information is very much crucial or too valuable and cannot be shared the freely. According to me, it is not a good idea to give away data as it can affect the profits of the multinational companies as well as confidential data in the hands of a terrorist is a huge risk. More availability of informative data would ensure that there is more knowledge about the certain concept or information among the majority part of the population. This will lead to better understanding with long term effects of it. Not only this, data can reach out to the far off world where it may not reach in the first hand. For instance, freely available education would enable poor or remote living population to access it or there could be more inputs or feedbacks on scientific research by the general public. There are also open source projects available on google for IT professionals. It would be a positive outcome in terms of progressing towards a better world. But what would be the negative effects if the information is made public to such wide variety of audiences? Apart from sensitive data reaching into the hands of a wrong person such as terrorists, it can also lead to business loss as big firms may wish to create product from a scientific research outcome. Also, the majority of educational institutes benefits from paid customers. For example, many big universities or private tuition centres won't sustain if such data are available without any cost. Thus, it won't be feasible to have free info available. To conclude, sharing information related to business or technical fields could benefit the humanity by enabling them with more knowledge, it could be dangerous and harmful for big companies profit. In my opinion, it is better to share only the information which is not classified as vital.