Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be?Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is true that foreign films are leaving domestically produced films in the shade. There could be several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that governments should promote local film -making by subsidising the industry. There are various reasons why foreign films can draw attention better than local movies. First and foremost, it goes without saying that the established film industries in certain countries have huge budgets for action, special effects and to shoot scenes in spectacular locations. Hollywood blockbusters like ‘Avatar’ or the James Bond films are examples of such productions, and their global appeal is undeniable. Another reason, contributes to this bias towards international films is a star studded cast and accomplished producers that audiences find. In contrast, poor quality, low-budget filmmaking in many countries. In my view, governments should support local film industries financially. In every country, there may be talented amateur fi lm-makers w a producer of motion pictures filmmakers filmmaker ho just need to be given the opportunity to prove themselves. To compete with big-budget productions from overseas, these people need money to pay for film crews, actors and a host of other costs related to producing high-quality films. If governments did help with these costs, they would see an increase in employment in the film industry, income from film sales, and perhaps even a rise in tourist numbers. New Zealand, for example, has seen an increase in tourism related to the 'Lord of the Rings' films, which were partly funded by government subsidies. In conclusion, I believe that increased financial support could help to raise the quality of locally made films and allow them to compete with the foreign productions that currently dominate the market.