Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some people believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Other, however, technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views

When the issue of modern technology domes into view, there exist conflicting opinions. Some people claim that human should lead a simpler life to tackle environmental issue due to the threat that innovative technology are posing on pristine environment, while others adopt an opposing view that advances in technology is a contributing factor to address environmental catastrophe. Each side has its own merits, which will be outlined below. On the one hand, it goes without saying that relying less on technological advancements can minimise the risk of environment-related problems. First and foremost, opting to walk or cycle rather than driving gives a helping hand in cutting down on emission. To be more specific, private vehicles is believed to discharge a substantial amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which has proven to be the main culprit of global warming and ozone depletion. If commuters stoping using vehicles that leave a massive carbon footprint, human beings will be able to reduce environmental degradation. Moreover, the less inhabitants use household facilities that consume copious amounts of energy, the more environmentally friendly their lifestyle will be. To be more specific, excessive consumption of air conditioning and television requires a mass production of fossil fuel, which takes a toll on natural systems. This directly suggests that On the other hand, it is a foregone conclusion that the development of green technologies plays a pivotal role in environmental protection. First of all, thanks to state-of-the-art technologies, people now could develop eco-friendly transports powered by alternative energy sources without causing greenhouse gas emissions. For example, in Japan, most people could go to work by hybrid cars or solar-powered buses. Last but not least, thanks to advances in waste treatment technologies is the golden key to tackle the world’s waste crisis. For instance, biodegradable products help significantly reduce household wastes, or industrial zones and factories could alleviate water contamination by installing modern wastewater treatment systems. In conclusion, although I acknowledge that having a simple life with less sophisticated technology could mitigate environmental deterioration, I would contend that it is the development of technology that helps solve these serious problems.