Each country cesnsors the media in one way or the other. What are the pros and cons of censorship in the media?

Many governments have been monitoring and regulating news, reports, and views published in the media. While some activists oppose censorship because of its disadvantages, this method of controlling the media can effectively reduce misleading messages and guard impressionable teenagers against toxic content.  On the one hand, censorship can be abused by authorities to hide their corruption from the public and manipulate the population by propaganda. If news companies were entirely under the control of state agencies, there would be little news about corrupt governmental projects. The residents, therefore, would not be able to fight against corruption due to the lack of transparent information and evidence. Besides, a stringent policy on controlling people's voices may violate a fundamental human right, freedom of speech. When people either cannot either raise their opposing views or thoughts or be heard by others, there will be no liberty and democracy. People, then, can only know, think, and speak what their rulers allow them to do. On the other hand, monitoring the media offers myriad benefits to individuals and society. Governments can ensure the authenticity of news that their citizens read or watch daily. There is plenty of fake news, especially on the internet, which means that a measure to regulate news is necessary. For example, fake news on the Coronavirus outbreak has caused people to be extremely frightened and behaved irrationally, such as over buying food or discriminating against other races, which further complicates the situation. Furthermore, young children have long been protected from inappropriate content such as violent or sexual movies by the governments' control over the videos and news that are available to them.  In conclusion, some governments can take advantage of censorship over newspaper companies, television programs, and social networking sites to serve the aims against their citizens' benefits. However, this can be considered an effective weapon against false or unsuitable data to protect society's stability.