Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Sport is a profession which is generally perceived as a combination of both gift and training. However, it remains a contentious view, whether it’s one’s natural ability or practice which unlocks success. In my view both are equally critical if one is to excel in the sports field. In this essay, I will investigate both arguments to elaborate my view. Firstly, sports gift is required to gain competitive advantage that your pears. For instance, having a naturally long stride will provide a platform to succeed in athletics. For example, millions of people across the globe train hard for marathons, but lack of natural capability impedes their success. Evidently, to be successful in sport the talent anchor is paramount, otherwise no matter the practicing effort, achievement will be limited. That being said, it requires hard work and practice to perfect the inherent skills, in order to achieve greatness. For example, statistics show that professional footballers conduct training for 80% time of the week. Across the board, sports people are well known for their rigorous training regimes, stringent work ethics to maintain their fitness in order to stay on top of the game. Therefore, despite their natural born football skills, this illustrating that gift alone is not enough to be successful. In conclusion, my opinion is that a combination of the flair and hard work are the necessary ingredients to achieve greatness in sports. Because, without possessing the unique skill one cannot get the stage to showcase the talent and without practice, one will not succeed. Although the debate between talent and skills will continue, those possessing the perfect balance between the two will always excel.