Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, governments carry out and control most of scientific researches in the world instead of private companies. However, some people think, that private companies should take care and control of scientific researches. I agree with the point of that, government should supervise all the scientific researches. The private enterprises argues that interference of states to researches makes scientific progress much slower, but there are some dangers in this view. First of all, private corporations value their profits, and will try to manipulate with researches, sacrificing security policies of scientific researches leading to harm products. There have been many cases, which proves this danger, for example developing drugs or weapons. Second danger that could come is also hurrying that leads to uncontrollable situations, such as genetically modified people. Talking about governments, this need to be said that government has too many obligations. Controlling all the sectors, including scientific researches are hard and time consuming. Although, allocated resources of government might be insufficient, because states also funding other public spending. Firstly, researches carried out by government set high standard for their product. The government will consider all the nuances, and will test product several times in many different situations. For example, vaccines researching carried by government have a long period of testing, before production. Secondly, the government will prioritize researches, considering the needs of society and government itself. One example is the development of renewable energy to meet ecological issues. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the point of view, that government should take responsibility for all scientific research.