Some people think young people should be required to have full time education until they are at least 18 years old. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether younger generations should be required to take full- time education until when they become 18 years old or not. Certainly, the educational system plays an essential role in various societal aspects of our daily lives. Hence, in this essay, I will explain the reasons why I believe that younger people should accept this fundamental rule even though they genuinely hate studying. To begin with, we need to reconsider the benefits brought by participating in education, and those benefits are mainly related to financial aspects. For instance, in Japan, most companies regardless of their size tend to deny employing people who have not completed high school education. The main reason hidden behind this convention is that businesses are demanding people who have enough skills which are applicable in practical contexts. Those skills generally include writing formal sentences, behaving politely in business situations and understanding orders correctly, and this knowledge is usually taught in daily classes in public schools. But, without these most basic skills, people consequently cannot obtain any job, leading to a situation where they need to struggle with financial burdens in the future. Therefore, schooling public educational institutions every day and learning appropriate knowledge should be enforced on younger students because by doing so, they will be able to be independent financially. Nevertheless, some people argue that if students spend a lot of time studying, they cannot allocate enough time to explore their own interests, leading to less expertise in specific areas, as a result. In fact, this opinion is partly correct simply because the time is limited. However, it is also true that if they did not acquire the optimal skills needed in business sectors, the number of job opportunities would become smaller, and they consequently need to spend more time working in companies where the salary is comparatively less and working conditions are not great. In other words, the time they have to allocate to those unpreferable situations in the future will increase relatively. Furthermore, obtaining basic knowledge will be more difficult as they become older due to their lower cognitive performances compared to when they were younger. Thus, to ensure that they can enjoy stable lives, it is strongly recommended that they take full- time education while they are still young. In conclusion, even though there are minor drawbacks brought by sacrificing their time for education, the entire benefit is significant and long-lasting because by doing so, they can obtain enough capital in the future. For this reason, I strongly support the opinion that younger generations should be encouraged to attend daily classes held in school at least until they become 18.