Being able to speak a foreign language is an advantage these days. Some people think that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, while others think children should begin in secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In today's world of globalisation, where visiting foreign countries have been a common practice, learning a non-native language plays an indispensable role in the growth of a person. The discussion upon when should children start to learn another dialect has been a hot topic among debates. The proponents believe that languages should be introduced in the primary school. However, in parallel, I side with the idea of learning at a higher stage in life. Firstly, experts claim that the age of 4 to 9 is best to develop a new skill as the young minds are still nurturing, which makes it easier for them to grasp another speech. Secondly, it requires ample of time to attain fluency and reach the peak level in any new subject. In this way, individuals can concentrate more if started at a young age. A recent survey based on the empirical research from China also shows that the success rate in passing the proficiency exam was 20 percent more in pupils who started preparing for such courses at earlier stages in life. On the contrary, I oppose the idea of a child wasting resources to face a whole new set of vocabulary which otherwise, he can pay utilise to learn his own mother tone. Firstly, introducing a new activity can also increase the unnecessary burden on young children who need some time to adjust to the new school environment. Hence, I support the idea of teaching anything new at a level when kids are fully accustomed to their original syllabus, which usually happens when they are in higher classes. To sum up, learning a foreign language is the need of the hour, which if started early in life can be easier, but putting surplus load on beginners should not be ignored in greed of immense future benefits. However, a healthy learning environment is beneficial for teenagers in the long run.