Some people think that consumerism can boost the economy and create business and jobs. Others consider that society becomes a ‘throw-away society’ producing unnecessary waste. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that the majority of consumption can contribute to economic growth and create more employment opportunities, while the opponents of this concept take the view that producing unnecessary waste can result in a throw-away society. Although consumerism can help the growth of the economy and create more job places, I believe that overconsumption has detrimental effects on the society and the environment. On the one hand, most people consider that the economy can be enhanced on a significant scale by consuming more products. If people purchase more items and things from any market, it can result in more revenue. In this way, businesses can widen their chains to the whole area, maybe to the all country. For instance, in my city, one shop, "Al Market", has drawn a significant number of consumers. Hence, after gaining the significant amount of money, the boss of this shop has decided to create chains, and in this way, they offered more employment opportunities for people. On the other hand, some consider that overconsumption is indeed more harmful to both the community and the nature. If overconsumption is observed in one certain area, it means that a glut of products will be thrown to the streets because not all of them might be necessary items for use. Moreover, it can lead to a reduction in natural demands. Take Madrid as an example. In one year, the consumption of some products has increased on a considerable scale, and it has ended with a dearth of main sources, including food, water, and other things. In conclusion, while production growth can be beneficial for businesses in terms of boosting the economy and generating more employment places, I consider that the potential drawbacks of overconsumption such as a reduction in the number of essential living demands cannot be ignored.