More and more people now own cars. What are the problems associated with an increase in the usage of private cars? How can these problems be solved?

The rise in the purchasing power of the people and a decrease in the price of the cars has resulted in a spike of car per capita index of the globe. Consequently, it has increased the burden on the available infrastructure and the environment, which I will discuss in more details in the following paragraphs along with the countermeasures to reduce it. Firstly, the current infrastructure is not developing at a rate enough to catch the growth of private vehicles. As a result, the congestion on the roads has increased abruptly. Furthermore, overcrowded roads predominantly are the reason for the upswing in road accidents, leading to further casualties and economic loss. An automobile stuck in the traffic or moving slowly in the traffic will consume more fuel to reach the same destination as less speed will not allow the engine to operate at optimum efficiency. Secondly, the emissions from vehicles are the prime contributor to greenhouse gases. These gases are the prime culprit of the acceleration in average global temperature and change in weather patterns in the world. In addition, the hike in temperature has expedited the process of ice melting at the poles. Subsequently, the sea level is rising around the world with many experts prophesying the extinction of many island nations by 2050. Actionable solutions are required to solve this problem. To get the ball rolling, the government needs to invest in public transport and infrastructure to support it. More lanes should be reserved for highly occupied cars and buses, it will encourage the people to carpool or use public transit. Moreover, reducing the cost of public transit can be a silver bullet to attract people towards public transit. In addition, awareness programs should be developed and communicated among the masses. In some cultures, owning a private vehicle is considered as a status symbol. This notion can be broken by informing the people about the problem of excess vehicles on the roads causing to them and society as a whole. To sum up, I think initiatives by the government with the support of responsible citizens can resolve the problem of road cramped with vehicles.